Using Consolidated Views
Consolidated views allow you to run a selection of reports across multiple portfolios. You can also add, edit and delete trades and dividends from within the consolidated view.
Creating a Consolidated view
From the change portfolio dropdown menu, select the ‘Create consolidated view’ option.
Sharesight Professional users can create a consolidated view by clicking the ‘Add a consolidated view’ button located on the portfolios tab of the Professional Edition dashboard page. Consolidated views can then be accessed and managed under the Consolidated Views tab on the dashboard page.
Create the consolidated view by selecting up to 5 portfolios to include in the view. The consolidated view can include both portfolios that you own and portfolios that are shared with you.
Working in a consolidated view
Use the change portfolio menu to switch between portfolios and consolidated views. A consolidated view behaves in the same way as a real portfolio – you can run reports, access holdings and add and edit trades and dividends.
The white title bar indicates that you are working in a consolidated view
Combine holdings by share code
By default, each holding within the consolidated view is listed as a separate line item in the reports. This means that if you have a holding of the same share code in more than one portfolio, you will see multiple line items for the same share code. Each holding is labelled with the portfolio that it belongs to. As per a standard portfolio, you can click on the name of the holding to access the holding detail page in the underlying portfolio.
On selected reports, an option is provided to combine holdings by share code. This allows you to view a single line item for each share code, with the line item figures representing a total across all portfolios in the Consolidated View. This option is available on the Overview tab, Performance Report, and Sold Securities Report.
When using the Combine holdings by code option, a label indicates the number of portfolios that contain this share code. Hover the cursor over the label to display a drop down menu that allows you to access the holding detail page for each of the underlying holdings.
Differences between a Portfolio and a Consolidated View
There are a number of important difference between a portfolio and a consolidated view:
- A consolidated view is simply a view across a selection of portfolios. All transaction data is saved against the underlying portfolio.
- Tax reporting is not available in a consolidated view. A separate portfolio should be created for each tax entity and all tax reporting is run against the individual portfolio.
- You cannot add new holdings in a consolidated view. New holdings must be created in a portfolio. To create a new holding from a consolidated view you must first switch back into the appropriate portfolio via the change portfolio menu (or dashboard if you are using Sharesight Professional Edition).
- Consolidated views cannot be shared, instead you must share access to each portfolio individually with your guest user (remember that all transaction data is contained in the underlying portfolio and not in the consolidated view). Your guest user may create their own consolidated view across any portfolios that you have shared with them.